The G20, or Group of Twenty, is an intergovernmental discussion board of the world’s important evolved and growing economies. It incorporates 19 countries—Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the UK, and the US—and the European Union (EU).

Collectively, the G20 accounts for eighty-five according to cent of world GDP, seventy-five according to cent of global exchange and two-thirds of the sector population, making it the top-rated discussion board for global monetary cooperation. India is presently a part of the G20 Troika (current, preceding and incoming G20 Presidencies) comprising Indonesia, Italy and India.


The G20 currently comprises:

# Finance Track, with 8 work streams (Global Macroeconomic Policies, Infrastructure Financing, International Financial Architecture, Sustainable Finance, Financial Inclusion, Health Finance, International Taxation, Financial Sector Reforms).

# Sherpa Track, with 12 work streams (Anti-corruption, Agriculture, Culture, Development, Digital Economy, Employment, Environment and Climate, Education, Energy Transition, Health, Trade and Investment, Tourism)

# 10 Engagement Groups of private sector/civil society/independent bodies (Business 20, Civil 20, Labour 20, Parliament 20, Science 20, Supreme Audit Institutions 20, Think 20, Urban 20, Women 20 and Youth 20).

In addition to G20 members, there has been a tradition of the G20 Presidency inviting some guest countries and international organisations to its meetings and summit.

Accordingly, in addition to regular international organisations (UN, IMF, World Bank, WHO, WTO, ILO, FSB and OECD) and chairs of regional organisations (AU, AUDA-NEPAD and ASEAN), India, as G20 Presidency, will be inviting Bangladesh, Egypt, Mauritius, The Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Singapore, Spain, and the UAE as guest countries, as well as International Solar Alliance (ISA), Coalition for Disaster Resilient Infrastructure (CDRI), and Asian Development Bank (ADB) as guest international organisations.

Share on WhatsApp

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Social Feed