Travelling on the Palace on Wheels is one of the memorable ways to explore India’s stately splendour. The carriages have been refurbished as replicas of the original saloon carriages of the Maharajas.
The Palace on Wheels is a luxury tourist train. It was launched by the Indian Railways in association with Rajasthan Tourism Development Corporation to promote tourism in Rajasthan.


Enjoy international cuisine, relax in the library, have a drink at the bar, or just retreat into your extensive cabin and watch the tapestry of the Rajasthan countryside unfold.
The train service was refurbished and relaunched in August 2009 with a new decor, itinerary and cuisine. It was voted the 4th luxurious train in the world in 2010. The efficient traditional liveried staff take care of everything one can think of, from accommodation, food, organized guided tours to shopping; there is nothing left to chance for passengers on The Palace on Wheels.

The Palace on Wheels started on 26 January 1982The concept of the Palace on Wheels was derived from the royal background of the coaches, which were originally meant to be the personal railway coaches of the erstwhile rulers of the princely states of Rajputana, Gujarat, the Nizam of Hyderabad and the Viceroy of British India.

There are 23 coaches on the train. 104 tourists can travel by train. Each coach is named after former Rajput states and matches the aesthetics and interiors of the royal past: Alwar, Bharatpur, Bikaner, Bundi, Dholpur, Dungargarh, Jaisalmer, Jaipur, Jhalawar, Jodhpur, Kishangarh, Kota, Sirohi and Udaipur. Each coach has four cabins (named chambers or saloons by the company) with luxury amenities and Wi-Fi internet. The train has two restaurants, The Mahārāja and The Mahārāni, with a Rajasthani ambience serving continental, Chinese cuisine, one bar cum lounge, 14 saloons and a spa.
Sofa-chairs, chairs and writing tables are provided in the 41 Palace on Wheels en-suite cabins. The intricate wood carved furnishing, silk and velvet bedspreads and drapes along with wall to wall carpeting create a special opulence that invites relaxation. The cabins all have state of the art amenities and services such as safes, channel music, temperature control facilities and WI-FI internet access. There are two super deluxe suites, and the rest are deluxe.
Super Deluxe Suites
Palace on Wheels Super Deluxe Luxury Train Club

The Palace on Wheels has 1 Super Deluxe coach with 2 suites, Emerald and Diamond, with queen-size double beds.
Personal attendants meet you on the platform to show you to your Super Deluxe suite, taking your luggage and detailing facilities available on board. Always on call, the service leaves nothing to be desired.

The use of exquisite silk and velvet furnishings, inspired by fabrics and designs used by kings in their living areas and bedrooms, along with finely carved furniture, are the hallmarks of this exclusive coach. There is a writing desk.

Exclusive air-conditioned car for sightseeing for Super Deluxe guests.

Deluxe Suites
The Palace on Wheels has 13 Deluxe carriages named after the palaces of Rajasthan i.e. Chandra Mahal, Moti Mahal, Hawa Mahal, Kumbha Palace, Umaid Palace, Jal Mahal, Surya Mahal, Sukh Mahal, Padmini Mahal, Kishori Mahal, Phool Mahal, Jogi Mahal, Lalgarh Palace. Deluxe cabins have twin beds.

There are three cabins within every Deluxe coach, named Ruby, Sapphire and Pearl. Deluxe cabins have twin beds.

Personal attendants meet you on the platform to show you to your Deluxe suite, taking your luggage and detailing facilities available on board. They are always on call.

Air-conditioned road coaches for sightseeing for Deluxe Suite guests.

The train has 7 nights & 8 days itinerary departs from New Delhi (Day 1), and covers Jaipur (Day 2), Sawai Madhopur and Chittaurgarh (Day 3), Udaipur (Day 4), Jaisalmer (Day 5), Jodhpur (Day 6), Bharatpur and Agra (Day 7), return to New Delhi (Day 9).

Share on WhatsApp

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Social Feed